Following the ministerial approval for the establishment of F.C.T Hospitals Management Board (H.M.B) on the 7th of November 2006, the department of Admin and Finance came into being as one of the four (4) departments/directorates. The department is the service department of the Board and is currently made up of 2 divisions and one unit namely: 1. Finance/Accounts Division 2. The Administrative Division and the Procurement Unit.

The finance/Account division is sub divided into four Units; (i) Funds/Budget (ii) Other Charges (iii) Cheques/Cash Office and (iv) Final Account Reconciliation while the Administrative division also have four units under it namely: (i) Office of the HOD (Admin & Finance), (ii)    Office of DD (Admin) (iii)General Admin Office and (iv) Registry and Stores